Seduta · Comparison
Seduta vs Otter.ai
General-purpose AI meeting transcriber with a meeting bot (OtterPilot) and a bot-free desktop app for Mac and Windows. Here is how the two compare, as of 1 October 2026.
| Feature | Seduta | Otter.ai |
|---|---|---|
| Privacy | ||
| Transcribed on the device | ✓Mac, iPhone and iPad | ✗No on-device mode found; data processed in the cloudsource |
| Where your meetings live | On your devicesSynced through your own iCloud; summaries on the device, or on EU servers with Plus | US cloud (AWS)Privacy policy names AWS in the United States; transfers under DPF and SCCs for EU/UK/Swiss userssource |
| No bot joins the call | ✓ | PartlyDesktop app records without a bot; the main Otter product uses a bot (OtterPilot)source |
| No account needed | ✓ | Not statedNo first-party page fetched states whether sign-in is required; help center returned 403source |
| Never records without you pressing Record | ✓Recording starts only when you click Record, also from a notification | ✗Desktop app can record automatically per platform (default is remind me); Notetaker bot can auto-join calendar meetings with video links; default for bot auto-join not confirmedsource |
| Recording | ||
| Records calls from any app | ✓Zoom, Teams, Google Meet and other browser calls, Webex, Slack, FaceTime, WhatsApp, Signal, Proton Meet; add any other app | PartlyDesktop app lists Zoom, Teams, Meet and other browser meetings, Slack Huddles, RingCentral, WhatsApp; bot only for Zoom, Meet, Teamssource |
| Start by hand, also in person | ✓On the Mac, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch | ✓Record button in the desktop app; in-person recording supportedsource |
| Notices calls and asks to record | ✓On the Mac: a notification when a calendar meeting starts, with Join & Record for call links; asks when a call app opens the microphone. Recording starts only after you click | ✓Desktop app detects a meeting when the microphone becomes active; per platform: off, remind me (default) or record automaticallysource |
| In the Mac menu bar | ✓Start, pause, stop and the status, one click away | Not statedDesktop app has an always-visible recording controller; a menu bar icon is not statedsource |
| Ready after install | ✓Asks for the microphone, call audio and notifications; calendar is optional. The speech model downloads by itself on first use | Not statedRequires macOS 12.3 or later; permission steps not readable (help center 403)source |
| No time limits on any plan | ✓No recording or transcription limit on any plan; Seduta Plus summaries are fair use | ✗Free: 300 minutes/month and 30-minute conversations; Pro: 1,200 minutes/month and 90-minute conversationssource |
| Notes | ||
| Languages | 25European languages, mixed in one meeting; Swiss German on the Mac | 6 (English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese, Chinese)source |
| Transcribe again | ✓Transcribe Again, for example in another language | PartlyAudio files can be imported (3 lifetime on Free, 10/month on Pro); re-transcribing an existing recording is not statedsource |
| Recognises returning voices | ✓Name a speaker once and Seduta knows the voice next time. Voice prints stay in your own Seduta folder, on your devices and your iCloud; never sent to us, a summary service or an AI agent | ✓Speaker enrollment: tagged speakers are recognised automatically in future conversations (can be disabled per workspace)source |
| Your own summary templates | ✓Write your own, next to the built-in ones | ✓Custom meeting-type templates; one custom prompt per templatesource |
| AI agents and CLI tools (MCP) | ✓Local MCP connector on your Mac: Claude Code, Claude Desktop, Cowork; read-only, paired apps only | ✓Official MCP server, cloud (connects to Otter's servers); read-only, OAuth; Claude and ChatGPT connectors. Server URL not stated on the pages readsource |
| Devices | ||
| Mac | ✓ | ✓macOS 12.3 or latersource |
| iPhone | ✓ | ✓source |
| iPad | ✓ | ✓Listing: compatible with iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Macsource |
| Apple Watch | ✓ | ✓Listed in the App Store compatibility linesource |
| Syncs between your Apple devices | ✓Your own iCloud Drive | PartlyThrough the Otter cloud account across web, desktop and mobile; not iCloudsource |
| Windows | ✗ | ✓Windows 10 or latersource |
| Price | ||
| Free | Everything on the device, unlimited | Basic: 300 transcription minutes/month, 3 lifetime file importssource |
| Cheapest subscription | $5.99/month or $39.99/yearSeduta Plus, 1 week free | $8.33/month, billed yearly (Pro, $99.99/year); $16.99 billed monthlysource |
| One-off purchase or your own key | ✓$34.99 once, with your own key (Seduta BYOK) | ✗source |
Where Seduta is different
- Transcribed on the device
- Never records without you pressing Record
- No time limits on any plan
- One-off purchase or your own key
- AI agents read your notes on your Mac, not through a cloud server
Where Otter.ai is stronger
- Windows, web, Android and Chrome extension
- Live collaboration, shared workspaces and CRM integrations
- Real-time transcription and team analytics
Record on your Mac, iPhone, iPad or Apple Watch. No bot, no account.
Join the waitlistCompared on 1 October 2026 from each company's own website, pricing page and App Store listing; the sources are linked in the table. Prices in US dollars, or in euros where a company only lists euros; taxes may apply. Products change: if something here is out of date, write to seduta@spert.ai and we correct it. Otter.ai is a trademark of its owner; Seduta is not affiliated with it.
Also compared: Seduta vs Fathom · Seduta vs Fireflies.ai · Seduta vs Granola · Seduta vs Jamie · Seduta vs MacWhisper · Seduta vs Muesli · Seduta vs Notion AI Meeting Notes